Interview: Craig Sheridan

It’s Valentine’s Day, we hope you’ve been snowed under with cards.  Today is also the day Craig Sheridan’s love song Nitewish comes out, almost like it was planned or something.  See what Craig has to say about being signed, Nitewish, love, videos and his music in general.

Nitewish is your first single since becoming signed, how as being signed changed the way you approach and make music?

Being signed enables me to relax a little knowing I have a team behind me as passionate about what I do as I am.  It also enables me to concentrate on writing more. Which is what I’m all about; and making music for others to enjoy and relate too.

The themes in Nitewish are clear, what inspired you to make such a love themed song?

My girlfriend …. Monica…. that simple …..  It’s about meeting someone who’s a soulmate after many years of thinking or not being fully happy or in love.  She is also the theme behind Crashgate’s B.O.B. song along with parts of it written about my nephew in wales.

Craig Sheridan

Nitewish speaks about love and closeness, whats the most touching or unlikely place you’ve seen this?

The most touching thing is when you see an old couple still holding hands like they were in they’re teens again!!

You’ve written an ideal soundtrack to Valentine’s Day. Have you ever felt the urge in the past to write anti-Valentine’s Day songs?

Not really; I have written a very dark , angry song called Deal With It for Crashgate’s new album.  Listen to the words.  I wont need to tell you who its about ………… but someone who used to be in my life but isn’t anymore, ( take a guess ) after you listen to it.

How was it filming the video for Nitewish? What’s it like to see someone else interpret your track creatively?

Honestly I feel really uncomfortable filming, it’s just not me at all ( lol ) but i know Matt Barker from Mosh Motion Movies.  his work is very good.  He plans meticulously and is very passionate about his work.  He works alongside me and asked were the images were when I wrote the song.  We worked on a story board and the video was born.

craigsheridanvideo

Nitewish is part of the album As I Am, whats next for you musically?

Next it’s to continue writing for my next acoustic album due out at the start of 2014, at my pace and not to push too hard and to let it flow whilst giving Crashgate all I can.  To try and give it and the boys the best shot at the title so to speak!

Where can people find Nitewish?

On iTunes and most download sites.  I’m also releasing a special edition CD single in a special presentation metal case with a bonus track from my first album, Red On Maroon, as well.

Describe Nitewish in three words.

MY SOUL OPENED.

David Horn

Related Posts:

Release Review: Craig Sheridan – Nitewish

Release Review: Crashgate – B.O.B

Live Review: Wild Child and Crashgate – The E.P Launch at The Walmer Castle, Deal : 04/10/12

Leave a Reply

